Tris’s Favorite Albums of 2012

So over the past few months, I’ve been getting the same question from people, “What’s your favorite album of the year so far?” And I keep giving the same answer, “I don’t have one”. Joe Budden’s No Love Lost was cool, but the replay value was lacking. Justin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience is good, but nowhere near as good as it was hyped to be. But I’ll spare you my opinion on that. So when asked, all I can say is I’m still playing my favorite albums from LAST year. That’s when I realized… I never posted a “Best Albums of 2012” List. Before I hit you with the list, remember a few things. : I didn’t include mixtapes, or genres I’m unfamiliar with (naturally). 2: If you think a different album should be on here, write your own list 3: My opinion is better than yours. So suck it up and accept my list. Ok, Now that we have that out the way, here it is…
MY FAVORITE ALBUMS OF 2012

image

MALE ALTERNATIVE ROCK:
Fun. – Some Nights
Good from beginning to end. Not much to say. If you’ve heard the album I’m sure you agree. And aside from the catchy melodies and great production, Nate Ruess delivers powerful lyrics throughout the entire album. Listen again and try not to hum along with every song so you can hear his message. Look for my review of the album following this post

image

MALE R&B:
Frank Ocean – Channel Orange
Good from beginning to end. Original. Most songs on here sound nothing like what’s on the radio or what we’ve heard in the past few years. Frank Ocean set the bar not only for other new R&B acts, but also for the Vets.

image

MALE POP:
Bruno Mars – Unorthodox Jukebox
This album has a little of everything. Bruno’s vocal performance, writing, and song arrangements on this album are amazing… All clear signs he’ll be in the game for a long time! Dope album.

image

image

image

HIP-HOP/Rap:
Kendrick Lamar – Good Kid, m.A.A.d. City
Nas – Life is Good
Lecrae – Gravity
Now I know everyone’s been running around talking about K. Dot having the best Hip Hop album of 2012. And we can’t forget Life is Good, which is arguably Nas best work since Stillmatic. Both albums deserve the rcognition they got. But one of my favorites of 2012 was Gravity. Rhymes, production, lyrical content, delivery… All on par with some of the best Hip-Hop albums I’ve heard in years. One of the most slept on Hip-Hop albums of last year. Go get a copy and thank me later.

image

FEMALE R&B:
Emeli Sande – Our Version of Events
Heartbreak hasn’t felt this good since Adele’s 21. And speaking of 21, that’s exactly what I compare this album to when I’m asked what it sounds like. As with most albums on this list, this one is great from beginning to end. I don’t want to… No, I can’t… Skip one song on here. Instant classic.

*Don’t see your favorite album? Doesn’t mean I didn’t hear it. Chances are I just didn’t like it enough. But feel free to share it in the “Comments” section.

– @TrisTheBarber

Leave a Reply

